C.R.A.C.K.E.R. Fest Gaming Network Forums
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:11 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Wed May 07, 2008 3:13 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
So, have you heard about the level of piracy protection that publishers are going to now? Both Mass Effect and Spore will be required to be activated before single-player can be used. Also, after you activate, it will recheck every 10 days to see if your cd key is still legit and hasn't been banned for activating it somewhere else or posting it on the web.

That means that when you pay $50 for this game and play it for a few weeks and some hacker makes a cd key generator, you could easily be screwed with no refund if the lucky persons land on your cd key. It's always the gimp games that lead the way...

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Thu May 08, 2008 5:20 am 
Offline
Teh Pope
Teh Pope
User avatar

Posts: 977
Location: Awesometown, USA
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:33 am
future ownage approaches

_________________
Image
[20:09] ShadowGuy: you should really lower you expectations of me


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 12:35 pm 
Offline
Rev. of Gnomeforest Baptist
Rev. of Gnomeforest Baptist
User avatar

Posts: 832
Location: The Forest of Gnomes
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:04 pm
That's why I like the way Sins of a Solar Empire strategy game is going. They aren't requiring any kind of hack protection (key, etc) and believe that it is better to not bug paying customers with such things because its going to be hacked anyways even if there is a key.

_________________
I put on my robe and wizard hat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 6:21 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
So Spore's DRM really backfired and I couldn't be happier. The game is a bust from review standpoints, having thousands of reviews on sites like Amazon with very low ratings due to the DRM.

EA already annouced they would scale back the DRM on Red Alert 3, only requring you to activate it before playing like you would Windows. Thus, I do not intend on buying it until teh DRM disappears. I would pirate and counter the DRM just to stick it to them before encouraging them to increase more DRM usage.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:11 am 
Offline
Rev. of Gnomeforest Baptist
Rev. of Gnomeforest Baptist
User avatar

Posts: 832
Location: The Forest of Gnomes
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:04 pm
Definitely, I haven't downloaded Spore yet but intend to do it that way before I buy it with DRM enabled.

_________________
I put on my robe and wizard hat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 10:27 am 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
I put my pirate hat on for Crysis Warhead...I had every intention of paying full sticker until I found out about the activations and what not.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:00 pm 
Offline
Teh Pope
Teh Pope
User avatar

Posts: 977
Location: Awesometown, USA
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:33 am
so you have pulled back on buying legit?

_________________
Image
[20:09] ShadowGuy: you should really lower you expectations of me


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 1:48 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
If they release a version with less DRM, I'm all for it. I will not activate or perform health checks for the little eye in the sky. If I want to reinstall my copy 50 times a year, I don't expect to bend over backwards. Imagine having to call tech support lines each time you reformat becuase you are over the 3 activation attempts...

For the record, I thought they we're only putting in new content but they actually expanded the engine a little and the game now even more badass than it was before. Full DX10 water and lighting is awesome.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mass Effect and Spore
PostPosted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 9:24 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
FarCry 2 is out now too with the same DRM so, again, my hat is firmly affixed to my head. Watch out if you put your hat on too though because there are mad viruses out there for FC2.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Fatal error: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php in C:\Inetpub\vhosts\crackerfest.com\httpdocs\forums\includes\acm\acm_file.php on line 106