C.R.A.C.K.E.R. Fest Gaming Network Forums
It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:22 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Apple is using Intel now.. PC's 1, Apple 0
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:12 am 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
www.apple.com

good news. now people are going to start putting OSX side by side to a Windows XP (and soon to be Vista) computer. and maybe... just maybe.... all these elitist bastards running around thinking they're better than everyone else because they own an apple are going to realize 30% of their money went to a computer, 70% went to pay for 5 letters. A-P-P-L-E.


oh yeah and i loved how they changed 'Dual Core' to 'Core Duo'. Fuck apple

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 9:02 am 
Offline
Rev. of Gnomeforest Baptist
Rev. of Gnomeforest Baptist
User avatar

Posts: 832
Location: The Forest of Gnomes
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:04 pm
I happen to like Apple, the only gripe I have with them is the cost and the proprietary hardware. Hopefully, though with the push to Intel based processors we will see a drop in prices and open market for hardware choices. I've played on MAC OS X for about an hour at an Apple Store and thought it was a solid, well designed OS. Considering game support will no longer be an issue I'd consider having my secondary pc an Apple. Its either Apple or Linux and Linux doesn't have the game support yet so it stays just an OS that I barely get to properly use because I'm using playing games.

_________________
I put on my robe and wizard hat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2006 7:08 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
The flame lord approaches. This is offtopic but I'll say it anyway~ I've actually got the insight now on the processor wars and corporate america won't touch AMD processors for production machines. Company I work for has over 2000 employees in IT alone and not a single AMD on any production server. We use them in the lab for running the client for the virtual machine servers (which have Intels) since they're cheap lol

Apple, the graphic/movie industry seem to think they're a big deal, which they used to be in the past before editing software for the PC broadened so much. Apple will have to shutdown their PC division in the next ten years if they don't do something to their system or make their OS PC compatible, imo.

Gonna copy this thread over to the computer innovation section too because I know the bs is about to catch on fire.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:19 am 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
you know why Apple didnt touch AMD? they couldnt produce enough hammer core chips to meet their needs.

You know why your company uses Intel? one of the IT guys is in love with Intel. And basically the only company producing AMD servers is HP, you may be able to find others.

The thing is, the OSX tiger that ships with these computers is running at 32bit compatablity mode...

Intel Yonah White Paper:
http://ces2006.akamai.com.edgesuite.net ... ePaper.pdf

(OSX is native to 64bit)

Other companies have varying needs for processing power. Would you rather have a server you use to numbers using a 8 Processor Dual Core (16 cores) AMD subsystem, or a 2 core dual core Intel subsystem (4 cores)?
(correct me if im wrong, but i think intel's Xeons go up to two CPUs, right, i think i've seen an old 4 CPU mobo here to there)

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2006 7:07 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
SPD010273 wrote:
You know why your company uses Intel? one of the IT guys is in love with Intel. And basically the only company producing AMD servers is HP, you may be able to find others.

Each one of the IT department managers buy their own systems so lol @ over 30 managers all buying Intels and Suns.

If you weren't so ignorant you'd know business practices arn't based on research done by punk kid overclocker sites (which is the basis for AMD fan clubs) but on company reputation and ability to deliver. It's sad when even Apple thinks AMD can't cut it~ Intel still has over 80% of the market share and net over 20 billion a year in processor sales compared to AMDs what? 2? AMD's stock shares haven't been very stable in the eyes of investors either...

And for your reference, only mathmatical type research use one system for raw processing power...the rest of the world uses clustering and layer 7 content switches to disperse tasks. Processors hit the ceiling a long time ago so now it's all in the chipset (higher bandwidth memory, controllers, etc) and Intel definately has an edge on that one these days.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 14, 2006 1:37 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
Ask go up to one of those IT guys and ask him, when he is looking into buying a server/workstation, what does he look for in a processor?

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2006 1:07 am 
Offline
Teh Pope
Teh Pope
User avatar

Posts: 977
Location: Awesometown, USA
Joined: Thu Sep 30, 2004 11:33 am
he asks for an amd k6, lawl

_________________
Image
[20:09] ShadowGuy: you should really lower you expectations of me


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 21, 2006 10:24 am 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
lol @ the intel/mac commercials now

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:45 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
Actually, with Intel providing the superior chips in the mobile industry right now, looks like they made a wise decision...

The site below showing the vast improvement in performance...some increases over 900 percent...

http://www.geekpatrol.ca/index.html

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:49 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
lol anything is a vast improvment over a G4.... i've seen calculators with more computing power than a G4

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 7:26 am 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
I guess you haven't met my friend Mr. Cyrix.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 12:38 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
The soon to be Vista is pushed back one-two years~ Microsoft is finally going to take responsiblity for their horrible coding practices so they've decided to rewrite 60% of the kernel.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Fatal error: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php in C:\Inetpub\vhosts\crackerfest.com\httpdocs\forums\includes\acm\acm_file.php on line 106