C.R.A.C.K.E.R. Fest Gaming Network Forums
It is currently Mon Apr 24, 2017 4:25 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2006 10:31 am 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
So, I've finally gotten to use a brand new, shiny AMD Athlon 64 system. Newer HP eval system with a decent chipset, sata drive, ddr2 and all...and I must say, she is the slowest piece of crap I've ever seen. It runs great AFTER it's loaded the program but the bottleneck is ridiculous. Sadly to say, after one week, she's being sent back. The alternate Intel system sporting a Pentium 4, also an HP, won the subsidy. Where's all that power it's supposed to have?

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 03, 2006 8:47 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
Speed core and model #? she also might be running single channel.

lol you're gonna have alot of fun w the 3 or 4 CAS DDR2 RAM... talk about bottleneck

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2006 5:38 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
The unit we sent back had a 3200+ in it. Invoice didn't have the chipset, etc.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2006 9:35 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
3200+ is either a socket 754 Clawhammer with a shitty onboard memory controller (why nobody uses 754), or a socket 939 Venice with 1MB L2 and a decent onboard dual channel memory controller... I would suggest getting something with a 3700+ or a 4400+ (X2)... pretty nice there. You could always go with a smithfield if all the redering you do is solitaire.

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 7:58 am 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
wts pricing wars pst

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 7:06 am 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
lol @ AMD... teh fight to survive lols

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Oct 31, 2006 12:01 am 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
Quote:
What it basically is, is a single PowerPC chip to do the work, plus several FPUs (math processors) to help take the load off during graphics rendering. For things like Word or office programs, it'll be just as powerful as a PowerPC processor, but in game, the FPUs can help render graphics and will boost performance drastically, or so they claim.


And so it has come to pass, that the mighty Cell Broadband Engine hath the power to rival even the most bold and daring supercomputer architectures. The world shall cower and tremble at the Cell BE's ability to churn through SIMD instructions, and it's amazing thuroughput that will make even the gods jealous.

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2006 6:54 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
I just liked the title of this article...oh yeah, Intel sneak attacked AMD with an early launch keke

Intel clubs AMD with four-cores

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 8:41 am 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
Yeah but you have to give it to AMD. Native quad core. What that means is unlike Intel's Presler and Kentsfeild, When you pop that IHS off, you'll see one peice of silicone, with four cores on the same die. Slap on a nice DDR2/DDR3 memory controller designed for high bandwidth, add in a large coherent shared cache, maybe even bump up L1 cache sizes and you've got one hell of a competitive processor. Reletively speaking, if AMD plays their cards right, this could be AMD's quad core Conroe.

But, that's in fantasy land. 2 years and several production delays later we'll have K8L, but Intel will probably have refined 4 core or even 8 cores, and Nvidia will probably be releasing it's own chips. Cell BE doesn't have the yeild rate right now to be competitive. Word on the street is they have a 20% yeild rate. That won't help out their prices.

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 15, 2006 4:17 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
They are all on one die but AMD openly admitted it's the exact same technology and they won't have any advantage over Intel...actualy, it will be a disadvantage because it will cost them more to make but in theory, they will be able to push more out of the future line...so, no, I can't give anything to AMD for that one other than a good laugh for trying to play down Intel's quad then apologizing because their chip ended up being the same. Yeah, I've been doing my reading lately...

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 2:27 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
Updates on that AMD Quad core at 3.0...it uses 73% more power than the Kentsfield at 2.4GHz and still doesn't meet its performance. Funny how tides have turned back to where AMD started. It brings up a memory of Shadowguy reciting a noob saying "AMDs are slower clockspeed because they work harder." Funny how that worked out eh?

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:20 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
Core architechture is totally different though.

Netburst has 31 fucking pipeline stages, but that's why you see those high MHZ numbers so noobs buy them. Thing, Netburst gets roughly six instruction finished (through all 31 stages), inone clock cycle, but if a pranch mis-prediction occurs the pipeline gets flushed.

Athlon architecture on the other hand, around 7-9 stages, and therfore runs at a slower speed. because of the shorter pipeline, the Athlons acheive around 9 instructions in one clock cycle. So, clock for clock, an AMD Athlon based processor > Netburst based processor.

Core 2 Duo, however, is based on the Core architecture. Core architecture features a much shorter pipeline (why the top core proc runs at 2.4Ghz instead of the 3.6/3.4 ect you see in P4s). Core also features intelligent shared cache, as well as a quantity of floating point units which make it so adept at rendering and such.

Kentsfeild is quad CORE architecture, and AMD's quad is the same old shit, just with an interconnect to link the cores together. So right now, AMD is doing what Intel did with netburst... streach the lifeline of the product out as far as they can.

K8L, on the other hand is different, still in the works. IDK when planned launch is.

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:15 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
Alot more to performance than pipelines. All that effects is how much you can do at once, which was obviously what Core was about. Bottom line is one instruction only runs the same response time through shared power logic on teh 1.8 as she does the 3.6. No thx to you overclocking nuts that don't recognize teh glass ceiling.

SPD010273 wrote:
So, clock for clock, an AMD Athlon based processor > Netburst based processor.

That math doesn't work out well if AMD is 20-40% under clockspeed, imo.

SPD010273 wrote:
(why the top core proc runs at 2.4Ghz instead of the 3.6/3.4 ect you see in P4s).

2.93 Core already on shelves with 3.2 due in Janurary in the form of an EE. Awfully quick releases dontcha think?

SPD010273 wrote:
Core also features intelligent shared cache, as well as a quantity of floating point units which make it so adept at rendering and such.

Core doesn't share a floating point scheduler liek teh AMD. That's K8L playing that game. Last I heard about K8L, it's only advantage will be running heavy floating-point SSE trash. It's going to get cleaned like a clock on the Integer side. Actually a huge drawback right now with K8L not being able to retire 4 commands per clock like it was spec-ed to do. All it's going to do is eliminate K8's current bottleneck...AMD is screwing around in too many markets now for their current size so I don't forsee K8L hitting the market fast enough anyway...Intel will be up to a 256 core processor by 2015 supposedly.

Seen the new shiny Itanium? True 64 bit lives again. I think my days of brand loyality in all aspects of the computer industry is quickly coming to an end...

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:15 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
Actually with the less pipeline stages in the Core architecture, each stage must be more complex, and is incapable at running at higher speeds. Eventually something will be waiting on something else.

AMD's 4x4 is a waste of time and money, they're just throwing something out to get chewed up by Conroe. K8L is supposed to be AMD's saving grace but I doubt that will ever work out.

By the way, FPU strength is what's in demand now. Basically all the games and apps today consist of are SIMD instructions and SSE/SSEII/SSEIII (which are all SIMD). I'm willing to bet we'll soon be seeing vector-style processors, but that's either here nor there. The only integer math computers do now-a-days is when you type 1+1 into windows calculator, and even then integer math can be dont inside of some FPUs, but then again ALUs are pretty easy to develop, because most processors use the ALU to execute 10-60% of their code (at least in the microcontroller market).

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2006 2:27 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
I'd have to disagree that strength is in FPU. It definitely depends on what you're doing with the computer, since some people just use their computer for WoW or instant messaging, etc. How often do you use your cd-rom? That data is sent through processor bit by bit in integer format. It's sad but about 40% of my computers usage now is ripping discs...

Afterall, high speed programs are ran using almost entirely integer formats since you can run 4 and 5 parallel executions at the same time with no overhead vs serialized floating point processing. It's obviously less common in anything complicated though, like the average computer game. SSE also uses a good bit of fixed-point integers which are not handled by the FPU.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Fatal error: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php in C:\Inetpub\vhosts\crackerfest.com\httpdocs\forums\includes\acm\acm_file.php on line 106