C.R.A.C.K.E.R. Fest Gaming Network Forums
It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 7:05 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: AMD vs. Intel
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:00 pm 
Offline
Quit Life
User avatar

Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 11:06 pm
They're taking intel to court.

http://www.tomshardware.com/hardnews/20050628_102226.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 12:29 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
At least it won't effect us~ didn't realize Intel was schooling AMD in foreign markets too.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:27 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
this had been goin on for quite some time after the Japanese government cited Intel for violating it's anti-trust laws. There's no doubt Intel is guilty. Intel was caught red handed attempting to finalize it's monopoly on the Japanese market.

You know... Intel processors are already expensive, imagine how much they'd cost if there was no competition from AMD. What would keep theme from jaking the price into the thousands?

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2005 11:32 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
If IBM broke their pact with Intel and went full force on their CPU line~ still have to have more than two competitors to keep prices low...they'll just align their prices with each other and force you to pick which one and still pay the huge price.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 7:21 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
IBM has fabs built and configured to produce Power PC chips, not x86 Chips. With Apple droping IBM, IBM will have to find a new market for their chips. In the x86 Market there is Intel and AMD, that's it, unless IBM feels like investing hundreds of millions of dollars into a new fab facility, fab equipment, R&D technicians to produce their own x86 chip, and all the workers associated, it wont happen.

AMD and IBM (when they were with Apple) were helping to keep Intel's already rediculous prices low.

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2005 10:34 pm 
Offline
Quit Life
User avatar

Posts: 520
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 11:06 pm
SPD010273 wrote:
In the x86 Market there is Intel and AMD, that's it


what about Cyrix fool!!!! They're coming back!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 12:20 am 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
hehe I didn't even wanna bring it up, or the SPARC processors that pwn it up.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 5:49 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
Cyrix.......... lol.

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:06 am 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
SPD010273 wrote:
IBM has fabs built and configured to produce Power PC chips, not x86 Chips. With Apple droping IBM, IBM will have to find a new market for their chips.

Just noticed this...who in hell do you think made the x86 format?

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 2:56 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
yes, but just cause IBM invented x86 doesn't mean that they have a state of the art fab up and running to churn out X86-64 chips that can compete with Intel and AMD.... they've been producing PowerPC chips for the last couple of years, and i doubt their aged x86 fabs, if they even exist anymore, can put out anything better than a 80486

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 02, 2005 7:22 pm 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
I doubt they would let themselves fall that far behind~ if they have any one on the board of directors with any sense when it comes to longterm planning over the last ten years, I'd almost bet they've got the ability, especially with the recent formation of power.org. No doubt they would have to convert/build manufactoring facilities but that's nothing they can't popup in asia in a matter of time.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 03, 2005 6:59 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
I really don't know. They could have a fab either operating, under construction, or on the drawing board, that can produce x86-64s, but as far as I know they dont. They could have planned ahead and may be able to use some of the same equipment they use now to help make x86-64s, with only needing to replace some of the outdated stuff.

If they don't have one or need to upgrade the existing one, it'll take quite some time. AMD's fab 24 (i think it is, it's 20 something) has been under construction for several years, as it's an enormous facility meant to churn out hammers, clawhammers, ect core chips. Intel's fabs take just as long, and so will IBM's if they have to build a new one.

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:52 am 
Offline
Kikkoman
Kikkoman
User avatar

Posts: 2391
Location: 127.0.0.1
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 3:51 pm
I haven't been following the industry as well as you have but the power.org companys are creating a new standard that would put x86 out anyway from what I understand so maybe there is hope afterall. They have all the companys in the mix they'll need to pull it off too.

Power.org Highlighted Members wrote:
AMCC, Bull, Cadence Design Systems, Chartered Semiconductor Manufacturing, Culturecom, IBM, Jabil Circuit, Novell, Red Hat, Sony Corporation, Shanghai Belling, Synopsys, Thales, Tundra Semiconductor and Wistron + newly joined AboveMicro, Anyka Cayman, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Celestica, DAFCA, Forte Design Systems, HCL Technologies, Rapport Incorporated, Teak Technologies, Inc., TimeLab, Universal Scientific Industrial, and Venture Corporation Limited


If they actually do work together long enough to pull it off, we should finally have something besides a Microsoft operating system to use.

_________________
Current Computer System
Image


Top
 Profile E-mail  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 04, 2005 11:18 pm 
Offline
Pimp
Pimp
User avatar

Posts: 373
Location: ATL
Joined: Mon Oct 11, 2004 8:52 pm
yeah Power.org, i think, is trying to standardize the computer market. I didn't say PC cause there are PCs, then there are Apples.

There's another processor coming soon, it's said to be the one that'll shut x86 down, it's the Cell processor, to be used in the coming PS3.

What it basically is, is a single PowerPC chip to do the work, plus several FPUs (math processors) to help take the load off during graphics rendering. For things like Word or office programs, it'll be just as powerful as a PowerPC processor, but in game, the FPUs can help render graphics and will boost performance drastically, or so they claim.

_________________
Image
Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

Yeormom wrote:
you make children in china cry.

DFI Lan Party Jr P45 T2RS
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.49Ghz (466x7.5)
2x1GB HyperX DDR2-1066 + 2x2GB G.Skill DDR2-1066
2xWD1600 160GB in RAID0
2xVisiontek Radeon HD4850 512MB in CrossfireX voltmodded @ 750/2000
Coolmax 950W
Microsoft Windows Vista Business 64-bit
Samsung SATA DVD-RW w/ Lightscribe
Altec Lansing 121i 2.1 Speakers


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:08 am 
Offline
Rev. of Gnomeforest Baptist
Rev. of Gnomeforest Baptist
User avatar

Posts: 832
Location: The Forest of Gnomes
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 8:04 pm
SPD010273 wrote:
yeah Power.org, i think, is trying to standardize the computer market. I didn't say PC cause there are PCs, then there are Apples.

There's another processor coming soon, it's said to be the one that'll shut x86 down, it's the Cell processor, to be used in the coming PS3.

What it basically is, is a single PowerPC chip to do the work, plus several FPUs (math processors) to help take the load off during graphics rendering. For things like Word or office programs, it'll be just as powerful as a PowerPC processor, but in game, the FPUs can help render graphics and will boost performance drastically, or so they claim.


If that is true, then why is Apple going Intel? Shouldn't they just stick with PowerPC chips longer and go with this new technology, hopefully it will be a good archetecture. The idea of having multiple FPUs is a good thought, I've always thought that the main processor should be used more for graphics rendering, but under the current architecture it wouldn't probably run as smooth as what the Cell may produce.

_________________
I put on my robe and wizard hat.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 92 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 7  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron

Fatal error: Not able to open ./cache/data_global.php in C:\Inetpub\vhosts\crackerfest.com\httpdocs\forums\includes\acm\acm_file.php on line 106